No shopping, but still supporting local indies

April 5, 2013

Well, I haven’t had to buy anything since Monday which is good for the purse but no so interesting for the blog diary.

But I did do something to support a local independent business yesterday.

In 1998 when I was on maternity leave with baby number 1 a man came to the door to ask if I’d be interested in having milk delivered to me. To someone whose idea of hell is not having milk for the numerous cups of tea I need to drink everyday this was a very appealing offer so I signed up.

For the last 14 years Church Farm Dairy (www.churchfarmdairy.co.uk) have been delivering fresh milk to my doorstep 3 times a week from their farm in Budbrooke just outside Warwick. And they’ve been brilliant. I honestly don’t think they’ve ever missed a delivery, whatever the weather. The eco friendly side of me likes the fact that the milk comes in glass bottles to ‘rinse and return’, with little aluminium caps for recycling. Nothing to go into the bin at all!

Anyway, one of the things I’d been struggling to find locally at independents during Lent was fresh cream. I could find long life cream but I don’t really like the taste of it. I’m sure I just wasn’t looking in the right shops but in the end I gave up and went to M&S. But it suddenly struck me yesterday that Church Farm Dairy would also deliver double cream to my door, so I’ve added a pot to my weekly order, and at the same time increased the amount of milk and eggs they deliver to us (we never seem to have enough).

I did also see a tweet from @LifeInWarwick yesterday implying that Church Farm Dairy also brews and delivers beer. I think that might deserve further investigation, and I’m sure my husband will be happy enough to sample the service…

Leave a comment